Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Robert Ellis: iPHONE VIDEO CHAT!

Special thanks go to Josh and Vidya at the Urban 13 Book Club for inviting me to host an iPhone video chat last week. The event turned out to be a huge success with more than 18,600 views over the four-hour marathon.

The response has been so positive that clips from the event have been edited into three short videos. Part One is ready and available now on YouTube, and on my author page at

Thanks to everyone who participated in the evening! It was terrific!

All best,
Robert Ellis


Monday, March 5, 2018

Robert Ellis: LIVE CHAT!

L I V E   C H A T 
MARCH 6, 2018 - 5 PM EST


Download the App for your iPhone or iPad Now, Join the Chat on Tuesday

(Sponsored by Harper Collins)

City of Echoes by Robert Ellis 
A Detective Matt Jones Thriller  


Monday, October 30, 2017

Robert Ellis: SAVE THE DATE!

I've very excited about returning to the Pequot Library in Southport, Connecticut! Half of the first Lena Gamble novel, CITY OF FIRE, was written at a table in this library! Hope to see you there! Sunday, November 19th, 4-6 pm.

For more information go to:

Meet Robert Ellis at the Pequot Library in Southport, CT!


Friday, September 8, 2017

Robert Ellis: CITY OF ECHOES, Writing Your First Novel

READER: OMG! I just read CITY OF ECHOES and THE LOVE KILLINGS back to back for the third time. I took notes and have started writing my first novel, but can't seem to get anything done. Running errands that don't need to be run, cleaning closets that don't need to be cleaned ... You're working on your eighth novel, the next Detective Matt Jones thriller, so I'm sure you know where I'm going with all this. I've spent two weeks doing everything except writing. Is this writer's block? And if so, how do I get rid of it so I can start and finish my first novel?

ROBERT:  T. Jefferson Parker once told me that the way to keep cool while writing is to realize that it's only possible to write one page at a time. So my advice is to take a deep breath and think about what Parker is saying. One page at a time. Once you come to(!), you need to trust the research you've done, and your story's outline. But even more, keep in mind that a chapter is only one small block, usually just a single idea, in the building of your finished work.

CITY OF ECHOES is an epic thriller. The last third of the novel is laced with twists and turns. My readers expect this when they sit down with any of my novels, so I'm always looking for ways to make sure the reading experience is as intense as possible. This means that for any single novel, I'm actually writing three. In CITY OF ECHOES there is the world as it appears to Matt, the world that it could possibly be, and then with the resolution, the world as it really is. Lifting the veil between the way the opponent wants Matt to see the crime, and Matt's discovery of what actually happened -- making all that work is always the big challenge, but also, the most rewarding part of writing.

If you trust your research and your outline, I think you'll find that your writer's block is nothing more than a distant memory.


Thursday, August 31, 2017

Robert Ellis: CITY OF ECHOES Kindle Book Deal Last Day!

From Bookbub:
"Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly: A grisly kill on Hollywood Boulevard leads homicide detective Matt Jones down an intense path of corruption and violence in this thrilling "powerhouse of a novel" (Booklist starred review). With over 1,200 five-star ratings on Goodreads!"

Amazon's Kindle Book Deal ends today at Midnight! Hope everyone took advantage of this wonderful price cut!
Hope you guys enjoy the read!



Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Robert Ellis: THE LOST WITNESS, Publishers Weekly Starred Review

December 2008

STARRED REVIEW. In Ellis’s scorching sequel to City of Fire (2007), LAPD robbery and homicide detective Lena Gamble is surprised when she’s handed a particularly horrific murder case. Her trusted supervisor, Lt. Frank Barrera, even warns her that it may be a trap. A dismembered female body found in a dumpster in Hollywood offers little in the way of clues until an anonymous witness delivers the Jane Doe’s driver’s license and a flash drive showing the victim’s kidnapping. Gamble follows every lead even when her own bosses spy on her and warn her off investigating the son of a powerful pharmaceutical company owner and a physician who knew the dead woman. Finding the missing witness before the killer finds her may be Gamble’s only hope of solving this deliciously twisted crime novel in which nothing is what it appears to be.

Ellis succeeds masterfully in both playing fair and pulling surprise after surprise in a story that feels like a runaway car plunging down a mountain road full of switchbacks.


R O B E R T   E L L I S   W R I T E R S   B L O G